On September 9, 2019, diplomatic conference was held to adopt the Protocol on the Protection on Industrial Designs to the Eurasian Patent Convention.

The adoption of the Protocol was unanimously supported by all parties to the Eurasian Patent Convention: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan. To date, five countries have signed the Protocol on the Protection on Industrial Designs.

After the entry into force of the Protocol, an application for Eurasian patent for industrial design can be submitted directly to the Eurasian Patent Office, with paying single fees.

Applicants will receive unified Eurasian patent in a single-window format – such a system already acts within the Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) for invention patents.

The validity of a patent on Eurasian industrial design will be 5 years with the possibility of renewal for 5-year periods. The maximum term is 25 years from the filing date of the Eurasian application.